First day

My start weight this morning was 114.4.
My goal weight will be 109.4 for November 17th.
My ultimate goal weight for now is 95 pounds (19.4 lbs total)

If you are wondering about my height, I’m about 5’3″. Don’t be concerned that 95 is too low! I have a pretty small frame and Asians naturally have more fat than muscle so a lower BMI scale is actually correct.

Life changes:

My main form of dieting is cutting back on calories, with a base of 1100 kcals/day for the first week. After this, I will adjust if necessary.

I will also be running at least 4 days a week. My usual range is between 3 to 5 miles. I am hoping to add resistance bands to my workout as well, if I can be more motivated! I will also try to do squats/lunges; however, I have no weights.

During this period, I will also be applying to scholarships and graduate school programs. Basically, I have to be much more efficient. I am going to cut back on reading fiction, one of my favorite activities. I absolutely WILL NOT read while eating (this leads to more eating and reading – potentially endless cycle which is time consuming and highly caloric)!

Avocados – I will probably eat between one half to one avocado per week day. Though they are high in calories, they are also delicious and rich in nutrients.

I have large former swimmer arms which have long since been converted to fat. My thighs have also gotten bigger over the last couple of years. However, I’m guessing these are the last areas where I will see improvement.

Thighs: ~19 inches
R arm: 11 1/4 in
L arm: 10 3/4 in

All in all, today went pretty well. Total net calories were a bit over 1100 (ran for 40 mins today!), but I was pretty hungry!

Most importantly – I would like to sleep more. This is something I want to keep track of.

2 thoughts on “First day

  1. Good for you! Just a note on the weights thing. Just about everything in your house is can be used as weights. I even use my girls as weights sometimes and they love it. If you have any plastic milk jugs (Or friends who have them) if you fill them with water they are about 8 pounds. I’ve used all sorts of things a weights. There are a ton of videos on youtube about it, just don’t overload on info. Also, sleep is key. I feel I lose weight mainly when my body is repairing itself when I sleep. I try not to eat 4 hours before I go to bed so my body takes from the reserves and that is usually when I will see the biggest loss between 1 day to the next (never more than 1.5 pounds though).

    Like

    • Thanks for the tip! 🙂

      That’s interesting! I have always had trouble sleeping, but I think one of my main problems is that I don’t give enough priority to sleeping. Hopefully I will be able to do so going forward.

      Like

Leave a Reply

